Posted in Uncategorized

Island Kindness

Now that I’ve settled into a teaching routine, I’ve decided to do something different each day after school with the few hours of daylight that I have. Then, once the sunsets and I’ve had my supper, I return to school to work. Tuesdays and Thursdays I go running, so that leaves Mondays and Wednesdays to fill. On Wednesday the dump is open so I can take my recycling and refill my water (which is what I did last week).

Last night I decided to tour the “West Dock.” This is the area where the ferry boat arrives when it is running. The Transportation office is there, as well as the Township Office, Health Clinic, Police “Station”, a museum, several Bed and Breakfasts as well as Bar and Grills, and a number of things I still haven’t discovered.

Yesterday’s goal was to meet the employee at the LCBO. A mainland friend told me she was lovely and that I had to go in and meet her, so that’s what I did! I parked at Transportation, and went in to buy the most recent copy of the “Pelee Grapevine” (the island’s bi-weekly newsletter) because I’m front page news! (The Grapevine is “still only 50 cents”)


Then I walked over to the LCBO to meet this wonderful new person. As I crossed the parking lot, I ran into someone I had taken the plane with yesterday. We got talking about photography because I had taken so many pictures on the flight, and he was very happy to show me a large poplar tree that he had just taken down as well as the 80 foot cherry picker they used to do it. He bought a few bottles and invited me to join him a few houses down for a glass on the deck. Yesterday was an absolutely beautiful day! Temperatures were warm, the breeze was light, and the sun was about to set off the west side of the lake. Without hesitation, I hopped in his truck with him and off we went! Literally just a few houses away, was a beautiful home with a few people inside surprised to be invited out for a glass of wine on the deck. I introduced myself and we chatted, and I quickly made some new island friends.

All the guests were on the next flight off island, so that left me alone with the cottage owner finishing off our glasses of wine on the deck. Then we walked up to West Dock together so that I could finally meet the person I had come to see, and she could get her mail. We had a wonderful chat on the way, and I look forward to visiting with her again.

Once I finally made it to the LCBO I was overwhelmed with kindness! I was glad to have left school early and taken the time to come meet someone new. I heard a little more information about the library project and the schoolyard equipment project (another blog post is in the works about the schoolyard equipment). 

I am truly thankful for mainland referrals of Island people I need to meet! I’m also incredibly blown away by Island kindness. Yesterday was a top notch adventure day! And then I went back to work…

Leave a Reply

